Back To Basics: A Writers Journey


Okay so I’m a little ashamed to say that it has been around a month or so that I haven’t written/or read any piece of literature in my all but nonexistent free time outside of work and family duties.  Though it has not been for lack of trying, bad book selections, or the almighty dry up of creative writing flow. I must say that once again it has been my lackluster taboo of writing/reading drive that has left me a bit on the dry side of inspiration/motivation as of late. In the past I normally have at least been able to sneak a few stolen moments for myself to at least brainstorm a few chapters or even just take to reading a book or two that I usually keep tethered to my Kindle.  Yet this month of May has been all but uninspiring for me to say the least. I’m hopeful that my feeble acknowledgement by way of this blog post will serve a higher purpose for me, or at the very least serve as a way to get my butt back in gear and back on the writing and reading bandwagon.

But I’m thinking that maybe a trip back to writing and reading basics might be in order for someone like me. Someone who, while completely in love with books, writing, and all that a good sound story has to offer, yet still craves having a hand in paving their writing/reading journey. As the first half of the year is moving swiftly behind us, I feel the need to devise a plan of attack to getting back on my writing track. A creative kind of “Keep It Simple” strategy, one to help foster daily writing/reading habits back to a viable routine for me. Of course making and setting aside a respectable amount of time to bring my pursuits back into a plausible reality will pose a task for me. But deciding to make the effort will be the first true step.

And so as we approach the half way point of 2015, I am making it my mission to seek out ways to bring my first loves (reading/writing)back to the spotlight. (And by the way I’m convinced that books need readers as much as most of us readers/writers crave the inspiration that the literary world affords us).

So to anyone else going through the writers/readers sporadic dry spell just know that you, my friend are in good company, and NOT alone.

Leave a Reply

