Novelty Classics of Mystery


On my momentary hiatus of all things YA, NA, and fantasy fiction, I have found myself taking a step in a different genre direction. It’s one that isn’t entirely unfamiliar to me. But it’s definitely a genre of books that I haven’t ventured into in quite a while (I’m talking middle school throwback). I remember the first time that I came across the book series Encyclopedia Brown and of course Nancy Drew. I can recall all too fondly of the rush of excitement that I felt trying to decipher clue after clue that would point to the culprit masterfully hidden within each book. So I decided that the land of crime drama/Mystery would be right up my alley. But as much enjoyment I know could be found by taking a trip down my childhood memory lane, I decided that I would take on a more “seasoned” author of mystery. One that is indisputable in her legacy of delivering upon scenes masterfully crafted of murder, intriguing characters, and secret after secret that carefully plays out filtering the plot until the very end. I am speaking of the brilliant Agatha Christie.

The Mysterious Affair At Styles encompasses every bit the perfect writing formula for bearing its imprint of a classic “who dunnit” novel. Ms. Christie paints a deep-seated plot created of enigmatic characters, detail driven scenes, and will keep you guessing as to who truly committed the crime of murder until the very end. My very first book by this author kept me up reading way past bed time (which is not such a forgiving thing for those of us day jobbers).

Taking on this classic, one written before my time, yet I couldn’t help but find myself every bit wrapped up in the story as if it were written just yesterday (even though the wording and language did trip me up a time or two). See this is the true power that books can wield to readers of all generations. Even those of us who only tiptoe outside our reading comfort zone on occasion. Sticking to what you know is natural for many of us, but what I want to highlight with this post is that whether it’s with books, reading, or writing, I’ve found that there is usually nothing to be lost and everything to be experienced in taking a trip down an unfamiliar lane from time to time in the vast land of books.

Leave a Reply

