The Scope of Setting Reading and Writing Challenges


Almost through the first month of the new year and I can’t help but feel a triumphant sense of personal accomplishment in having already read four books towards my reading challenge I set for myself on Goodreads. This year I actually set a somewhat conservative and VERY attainable goal of the number of books and series that I hope to diverge myself into. For me this was completely strategic. Discovering and engrossing myself into the world of reading books has always been an all too easy habit that I have found for myself, diving into on far too many occasions….yet the act of actual writing has proven itself as a lost art on me for the past year or so.

It has really proven itself a challenge for me to set, find time for, or even worse just in developing and keeping an habitual time each day, set aside purely for writing. My writer’s drive and passion are still intact, pre-set to overdrive. In fact, the more I read, the more amped I find myself ready to put pen to paper to create my own literary tale for the world. Yet for the life of me I can’t figure out why I’m still stuck on an unfinished manuscript that has been in the works of the “revamped” stage for seemingly forever. This new year I’m suddenly trying to scope out any ideas for how to get back into the writing groove.
Though a challenge in itself with work and family obligations, realizing my writer’s dream is still a plausible possibility, right? While I’m no stranger to the challenges that life sometimes carries your way, seemingly taking you farther away from your aspirations and pursuits with each passing day. At the moment I can’t help but feel the threat of my stagnate writing becoming a life regret that has the power to haunt with regret.

But I’ve decided that even with this flicker of momentary defeat, I can’t let it settle in and take root. I must push on and pound the writing pavement by any means and creative avenues, no matter how great or small. Getting back to my writing shall undoubtedly continue to be a challenge, but not one flagged in the impossible. Write something everyday. Anything no matter how good or bad? Right? I’ve decided that this just may be the strategic shovel to dig myself out of the slump I’ve placed myself in. And what better kickoff than with the self challenge of posting regularly to this blog. It was after all my beginning platform to connecting and sharing a few random words and thoughts with the world when I first took the NanoWriMo challenge a few years back. And I can’t help but feel the surge of potential and promise each time when I put out a post on this little blog that still stands strong for me as I pound out word after word, pulling myself back into the writing game tonight. I’m thinking, yes it will continue to be a challenge, but one that is both welcome and accepted

Leave a Reply

