Navigating The Reader and Writer In You


As the end of summer fast approaches, each day seemingly a blur of personal and professional obligations that comprise the majority of my time, I decided to grab a quick moment just to share a few thoughts on what I can’t help but take as my summer shortcomings thus far. Though I felt as though my reading and writing goals started off strong towards the beginning of the year and even felt as though both were in full swing before the emergence of summer, I’m coming up short as of late. After checking in on my set book challenge on Goodreads, I realize that I am barely at my mark to meet my reading challenge by year’s ends. And I can’t help but feel like a complete slacker in regards to my still unfinished book.

See for me it seems as though this summer may have posed a slight distraction as of late. And in actuality I’m not referring to the carefree glory of summer. But instead speaking on the pitfalls of drowning in my day job. For me it’s been living a daily truth of not having (or making) enough time to simply enjoy two of my life’s leisure’s in between. Reading and my half-hearted attempt at writing. It’s been a tricky, and more times than I care to admit, bumpy road trip to fulfilling promises to myself that have served as more than just empty roads to my reader and writer happiness. It’s been filled with more than a few of life’s detours along the way, yet I find myself as the fork in the middle of this road that has run dead-end as of late.

The good thing (I think anyway), is that I recognize what has befallen me. Now it’s just a matter of mapping my way from the roadblock that I’ve somehow let become my summer detour. But like any and all detours I know that they are only temporary. The task will be in re-routing my goals, my joys, and set my reading and writing GPS course back towards fulfilling and navigating towards what makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

