The Flash Of Summer


Seriously I almost can’t even fathom that as summer fast approaches its significance carries more than just the promise of vacations, breaks from school, and unfortunately for many of us the likes of an impending heat wave. It also marks the halfway point of the year, igniting the all to common cliché’ of “time flies’. Yet for me it is the turning tide signaling not only having carefree days under the sun or enjoying the endless stream of summer blockbusters. It also carries with it a poignant reminder of the continuum of time that never sleeps, stops, slows, nor bows down to anyone. As the seasons prepare to change hands, I’m now staring blindly into my own personal headlights of life reflecting on where and how I started the year and the personal and professional journeys that I’ve made thus far. Summer seems to hold my life pursuits dangling right out in front of me. It’s a time where I can take a moment to look back at the big and small achievements or changes that I’ve made in my life. But it also is the time of the year where I feel most compelled to draw out new life ventures as well. I’ve discovered that this is the season that personally fuels the creative and motivating side of my life’s drive. And as these areas of my life spike in a seemingly fast forward state of motion, I can’t help but fall into the all too good-natured common cruise of the life and times of summer. For me that means acknowledging, yet not dwelling on past efforts, whether good or bad embedded within the last few months. But instead choosing to ride out the fly by days of this season soaking up all the potential in its flashing path. Long live the great forthcoming days of summer.

Leave a Reply

