Today’s Emerging Books: What’s Your Story


Finally snagging a moment for myself this past weekend I took to Goodreads, Amazon, and even perused through a few books that have taken refuge on my Kindle, yet for one reason or another have remained unread. As usual I browsed through the countless stream of ever-growing books, yet couldn’t help but take notice of the new breeds of emerging books that are trying to make their imprint on the literary scene of today.

Of course there were the ever-present in flux of vampires and werewolves, angels and demons, along with a heavy make up of dystopian, attempting to ride the coat tails of the success of the Hunger Games and the newest catch of Divergent series. But when I found myself roving deeper into the tides of the YA and NA genres, (my reading babies) I was pleasantly surprised to find a few scatters of originality amongst them.

Believe it or not, I actually found more than just the sweet alluring taste of magic and mystic swept within the lines of a few well written synopsis and book endorsements. I actually found works penned in what many perceive as a lost art these days. The seeds of originality.

They were scattered about, though sinking into a market, taking root within the hearts of both Indie and mainstream readers/authors alike as many of these works have either captured or are in the beginning stages of developing a solid fan base. I must say that this pleases an avid reader such as myself on so many levels. I love being reminded that the YA/NA literary world (or the book world in general) is still growing strong and in ways that are pulling in new and old readers alike. So whether or not these works ever make it to the levels of solid mainstream success, I can wholeheartedly take comfort in the fact that there are authors/writers (new, old, and emerging) out there daring enough to step out on their own and share their respective creative genius, characters, and stories with readers of the world.

So if any of this post includes you, I’m just curious….What’s your story?

Leave a Reply

