The Make Or Break of 2013: The Writer’s Grind


Well it’s official. 2013 is winding down to a whirlwind close. I myself just wrapped up my third attempt and successful finish to another NaNoWriMo writing frenzy this year. And after taking on such an exhausting, though self-fulfilling goal, I felt the need to pen a post reflecting on the state of writing goals, promises, and or milestones. For some these may have been reached, but for others, maybe unfortunately for one reason or another were left idle as roadblocks, discarded by the wayside of life. For me I had resolved a year or two ago to not bind myself to the restraints of self-imposed goals and to just take each writing challenge as it presented itself before me. So I haven’t backed down in trying to accomplish and make the most of what life has laid out for me, namely with the paving of my writing pursuits.

I’m proud to say that for the most part I have been productive, grasping at any and all time I’ve managed to steal for myself to pursue my writing passions. I haven’t drowned in any rough writing waters either that may have presented themselves in the form of writers block or lack of time due to the demands of my everyday life responsibilities either. For some, each passing year presents itself as a make or break challenge in achieving your set goals. For me, I’ve found it to be a test of wills. My own. This was yet another year of make or break in a sense, as to whether I make a solid effort in pursuing what drives my writing passion. Or do I break a part of myself from even trying? I know it’s a struggle for a lot of aspiring writers who may have faced more discouragement from yet another passing year of encountering more unrealized or unrequited success as a writer. But though the year is almost done, it doesn’t mean that you are.

2013 doesn’t have to be your make or break ventures into writing. Instead let it be a first or for some another stepping stone in finding out everything that you are slated to accomplish with your writing pursuits. Putting up another 50,000 plus words in the NaNoWriMo challenge was enough to convince me that my own writing dreams are more than just a possibility. They are merely my beginning.

So to add to yet another one of my impromptu posts on the makings of a writers life, I have to end by reminding all of the daring and creative writing minds out there that this year too may only have served as your beginning. That this year was simply your make or break challenge to keep you pushing on, to ink your own path to success on your terms, but most importantly, in your own time.

Leave a Reply

