Best Seller to Mainstream Blockbuster: The Challenge


Yet another one of my favorite book treasures from a phenomenal author was catapulted to the big screen this summer. I saw the movie rendition and was pleasantly surprised with how much I enjoyed seeing it play out on the big screen. Normally I’m a movie buff anyway, but not every book transitions well to the big screen, not to mention faring against blockbusters or garnering success and acceptance of broader mainstream audiences. Which seems to be the current case with just about any YA book to movie potential franchise of today.

In my opinion it seems as though with the exit of franchise powerhouses such as Harry Potter, Twilight, and currently reigning Hunger Games, that the YA market has seemingly hit its peak. I’m not sure if it’s the lack of audience or that the magnificence of books isn’t boding or transitioning well onto the big screen that is causing this decline. Whatever the case may be, I am finding myself hungry (no pun intended) for the next big thing to take readers by storm. My son had thought that the Percy Jackson series or the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books (both of which he adores) would take their place among the YA book to movie elites. Yet both book to movie franchises are questionable at the moment. So I guess I’m just trying to make sense of a YA market that appears to be on an unfortunate decline. The YA genre will forever be near and dear to my heart. And while I still dive in and welcome the delight to experience fresh new plots, storylines, and characters put out on the scene, I am not too caught up in that regard to notice that for the moment, it appears that the YA market seems to be a dwindling book to movie breed.

And for what it’s worth, I hope I am wrong about this. That it’s all in my imagination that this genre is dying out to mainstream audiences of today, and not a reality of what is to come.

Leave a Reply

